Short Story Review – Right Now by Sarah Elizabeth Baethge


This was a good short story once it got going.

The start was a detailed explanation of what the detective agency investigates and why.  This was a little boring and it could have been added later once the story had already gripped you.

The actual story plot was very good, it involved a detective agency made up of 2 detectives and a receptionist, they take on a case and in the course of the investigation come upon a man who has been locked away in a shed.  They rescue him.  This man has been experimented on, he now has the ability to see into the future but it is not perfected and the consequence is that he has forgotten a lot of his past.

This could have been developed into a full length book and would have been better for it.

The investigation itself was never completed.

The writing style is easy to read and I will read more by Sarah but I advice her to re-work this piece as it could be an excellent novel.

Stars 3/5 – I liked it.

~ by adelesymonds on July 17, 2012.

13 Responses to “Short Story Review – Right Now by Sarah Elizabeth Baethge”

  1. Thanks for your review!

    • You are welcome Sarah, please develop this further though as it really would make a great book.
      Adele

    • You are welcome Sarah, but please take my advice in the spirit it was meant, I truly believe this would be an awesome book if you developed it further, and the possibility of it being the start of a series.
      Adele

      • Sure, thanks for the suggestion; as I wrote and Kindled it in about a week, I know it could probably be improved with a bit more time and effort. When I’m not so busy with other things I will definitely give the story more thought. Really, I just needed something I was not so attached to for trying out the supposed ‘wonders’ of KDP-select.
        -Sarah

      • In that case it was very good, keep up the good work hun.

  2. Hi Sarah and Adele, the danger of doing this is that you give readers the impression you’re a slapdash writer who doesn’t care about their reading experience – I know that’s not true, but it’s easy to draw that conclusion for someone who doesn’t understand how writers work and think. Whenever you publish anything, bear in mind the reader’s, not your own needs, otherwise you’ll ruin your writer’s reputation before you’ve even started properly.

    Best wishes
    Maria

    • I agree Maria, I think it is a dangerous but brave thing to publish an unpolished piece of writing, but the short story written by Sarah really is excellent in the middle. I would like to see where she can take the story to as the idea is brilliant.

      • I did a review of one of Sarah’s rather unpolished novels and it was dogged by exactly the same problems. Messy presentation, too. She’s her own worst enemy, bless her, but has great talent as a storyteller. She just lacks the tools to get her story ideas across at present.

      • I think Sarah is a promising writer who could become very good with the right advice and guidance, I don’t think unsolicited criticism should be thrown her way but constructive criticism when asked to review her work. I would love to read and review more of Sarah’s work. Once Sarah has improved her ability to get the stories from her head to paper she will be able to look back at her earlier work with more objectivity.
        Please no more criticism, I think we made our point.
        Sarah if you want to talk, e-mail me hun.

      • Sarah has had constructive criticism from me and just being kind without telling her where she’s going wrong is not going to make her or indeed any writer learn anything. I’ve given her website addresses where she can learn for free and get excellent advice and she has accepted advice like a professional. It is because she is so talented that I bother. Professional writers get critiques thrown their way all the time and most of them will be a lot harsher than mine – a lady with such talent will one day be a professional writer, so she might as well get used to it under “friendlier” circumstances now. Mollycoddling is always bad practice.

      • Maria,
        I understand completely and I am sure Sarah appreciates your comments, help and support, no offence was meant on my part, sorry if You were offended. I agree that Sarah has great potential and good ideas and it is really good that she now has an editor to help her improve and grow in other areas, I look forward to her reaching her full potential, all writers need to learn and need other people to help them learn in a non-judgemental way, as you have obviously been doing. I only meant that this conversation thread had reached its conclusion. Let us see what work she comes up with next.
        I hope we can be friends.
        Adele

      • I am honored that both of you take such a interest in my writing, and I do have an editor waiting with a deadline for what I’m writing now. The selling of what I know isn’t perfect was to fit my production budget of nothing. By the selling incomplete unpolished novels at http://www.iwritereadrate.com/ I was able to snag an editor willing to work within my budget.
        Other than that, making up and telling stories is fun. Even if I don’t become rich or famous off of it, I see no reason to stop.

      • Good for you Sarah, I hope everything goes really well for you, and I am not surprised that you have managed to get an editor who is interested in helping you as you have some great ideas. I look forward to reading more books by you.
        Adele

Leave a Reply

 
B.R. Young

Indie Author

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

The Published Pen

Exciting news, tips, and industry tricks from Pen Name Publishing and French Press Bookworks, boutique publishing houses for all of your independent needs.

My Thoughts...My Words...

"Always be a poet, even in prose." Charles Baudelaire

Elisabeth Wheatley

Dangerous girls and boys who love them.

Storytime with Buffy

Let's talk books

thereadershollow.wordpress.com/

Of books, stories and those who love them.

Organic, Free-Range, Home Schooled Well Water

Collection Of Stories From The Great Whatever

AWARD WINNING AUTHOR DIANNA BELLEROSE

Women's Advocate, Radio Host, Speaker, and Book Publisher

bethanybull75's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

SM's Relaxed Writing Zone

Where Creativity Runs Wild

Tiger-lily's FlashFiction Cave

Causal Story telling.

Watch Nonnie Write!

"It's gonna be a long, long journey, but I'm ready..."

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

Julie Kavanagh writer

Me, my books, my world

disappearinginplainsight

Writing about writing

school Days

Good old days...

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

IAmJasonPatrickPerry

Up and coming writer

One step at a time

Let's learn creative writing together

Angus48's Blog

Keeping Reviewing and Ranting to an Artform.

The Linden Chronicles: The Wolf's Moon/The River

Bestselling Thriller/Suspense Author, PATRICK JONES, reveals stories never before told UNTIL NOW...YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! Copyright (C) Patrick Jones All Rights Reserved

A New Start in Life

Finding my inner peace...

All That's Written ...

Lucy Pireel - Author, reader, and blogger

Emma Lynn

Mother, wife and audlt ficton writer

P.M. Brown

Hope is never lost, it is only abandoned.

Imagineer-ing

an adventure in reading, writing & publishing

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

OWS Ink, LLC

Changing the literary world one author at a time

Echoes

There's No Truth, Only Perspectives

lizzielich23

Lizzie's Random Thoughts and Stuff

lakefrontmuse

Just another WordPress.com site

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

Greg Carrico's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Novelist/screenwriter Scott Harper’s official blog

Novelist/screenwriter Scott Harper’s official blog

Kelly Dines

Writer, bookworm, fantasy dork

J. A. Dennam's Romantic Suspense

Read, obsess, live the ride, then fix your hair.

Missuswolf

Fizz, Fiction and Family life

My Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Voices In His Head

Recognized as Blog Of The Year! (unfortunately, it was given the year 1910, the start of the Great Depression)

zenbuddy

Just another WordPress.com site

Jay Squires' SEPTUAGENARIAN JOURNEY

DUDE'S USED ALL HIS SECOND WIND . . . . JOURNEY WITH HIM IN THE LAUNCH OF HIS THIRD.

Sandra Austin

Writing for Children, Life Stories, Life in General

thejourneyofnicola

This WordPress.com site follows Nicola

