Interview with Mimi Barbour, book reviews and int contest and giveaway


I would like to introduce you to Mimi Barbour, she has kindly agreed to be a guest on my blog today and do an author interview for us.

Please welcome Mimi.  ‘roar’ ‘cheer’ ‘applause’

 

Short Author Bio: Mimi Barbour lives on the beautiful east coast of Vancouver Island and writes her paranormal romances with tongue in cheek and a mad glint in her eye. Asked why she prefers paranormal, she answers, chuckling,

“Because it’s fun! Imagination can be a lot more interesting than what happens in real life to so-called normal people. I love my characters, and my goal is to make the readers love them also. To care about what happens to them while the tale unfolds. If I can steal my booklover’s attention away from their everyday grind, absorb them in a fictional world, and make them care about the ending, then I’ve done my job.”

Author of: The Vicarage Bench Series / Angels with Attitudes Series and her new Romantic Suspense series “Vegas”.

 

 

Thank you so much for inviting me to be a guest on your blog, Adele. I love visiting and making new friends.

 

 

Tell us a little about yourself outside of your writing career…

 

Before I actually became serious about being an author, I worked mostly in offices, did my stint as a stay-at-home mom, travelled to different countries with my husband, whose career took us to places like the Yukon, Chile, and Guinea in West Africa and all that time I wrote, mostly children’s stories. Finally, I took a couple of years of creative writing courses and even children’s literature correspondence classes.  I had my first work published, a short story called Run for Joy (available on my website) and the bug bit, infusing me with its juicy, sticky, beautiful venom. It was infectious – the feeling you get when you see your name in print. I wanted more. But I decided, maybe, I needed to try a genre that I spent many hours of my life reading. I’m a born again romantic from the top of my head to the bottom of my soul. I love happy endings…. they just make me so dog-gone happy!

 

 

Can you tell us a bit about your book, The Vicarage Bench?

 

My book is actually an anthology of three novellas called She’s Me, He’s Her and We’re One. (All those blasted pronouns! How hard was it to choose those titles?) Since I write time travel with a twist, those titles really do represent the stories within. Spirit travelling has always fascinated me, and one of my favourite TV shows years ago was Quantum Leap, which dealt with this premise.

When I came across a contest called “Through the Garden Gate” put on by Wild Rose Press, I made up my mind. I could write a paranormal story where the protagonist goes back in time. Easy, right? Except I broke all their rules (not good at following those things) and put my heroine back in time, not in her own body, but to join with another in their body. The antics leading from these plots are so much fun to write. I guess Wild Rose decided they were fun to read also, because they offered to publish me separate from the contest, and once again, I saw my name in print, this time, on the cover of an actual book. That big old bug came back and bit me in the backside once again. I’m hooked!

 

You have another series about Angels called “Angels with Attitudes”. What made you decide to write these books?

 

I wanted to be an Indie author, and up until then, all my books were published with Wild Rose Press. A book I had written about a girl who had the bad habit of talking to herself had been refused from my editors there but with positive comments about the characters and quality of writing. They just didn’t like the fact that the heroine carried on conversations in her own head…said she seemed a bit wacky!!! So…I needed to give her someone else to talk to. Yep! A cheeky angel became Annie’s new BFF in “My Cheeky Angel” and the new series was born.

 

I quickly followed that book up with “His Devious Angel”, which is hilarious. I love writing romance, and when I can team up a love story with a bunch of animals, then I’m really happy. The dog lovers will totally swoon when they read about the antics of all the purebred sweethearts in this book.

 

How do you handle the negative reviews and critiques you receive?

 

You’ll be scoffing and saying Yeah! Right! But so far, (fingers, hands, legs and eyes are crossed) I’ve only had a couple of really bad ones. Hey, I’m a big girl…sob!

Critique’s are another thing altogether. They happen before the book gets published, and I consider them messages from the gods – warnings to shape up or at least to double-check whatever has been pointed out. Nine times out of ten, the critiquer is correct, and I hadn’t seen the bees for the bushes. I change, fix, re-do, and thank the angels for giving me the heads-up so that my work can go out in as clean a shape as possible.

 

 

Okay, so due to your bio we know why you love to write paranormals, but any plans to write in another genre of romance?

 

Funny you should ask. A while ago, my promoter Carolyn McCray approached to see if I wanted to submit a short story to go into an anthology called “Bullets, Brass and Babes”. Being that she is an Indie best-selling author, I jumped at the chance to be published with her and some other well-known writers. I figured, what the heck is 5,000 words? I had a week to get it put together. I started working, and my first try at romantic suspense began to meld. I fell in love with the characters, because they were gritty and realistic, just like ones you might see on my favorite Castle show. I sent her the story, and she returned it with these words…this is a full-length book. Now go and write me the short story to introduce to these characters. Huh? There were now only two days left….gulp!

Shocked and happier than a pig in ahem…is the best way to describe how I felt when she decided to accept the story, which we called Partners. Then I had a couple of months to finish the full-length sequel, and we called that book “Roll the Dice” I’ve just released this one on September 15th and am hosting a celebration contest ( see below). Once I begun, I couldn’t seem to stop, so I quickly turned these two books into a series called “Vegas” and book three, “High Stakes Gambler”, will be out after the New Year.

 

Can you give us the details of your launch party and contest please?

 

I’ve never really organized a launch party before. It was a huge amount of work, but I want to say how appreciative I was to have so many friends’ support. I really enjoyed the camaraderie. There were over 20 blogs who have been hosting me this week. I have lots of coverage on Facebook and Twitter, and starting tomorrow, Roll the Dice will be in a huge promotion called Free Partay. For those of you who have never heard of this group, once a month more than 30 best-selling Amazon authors get today to put one of their books free for the readers. If you check my blog you will see the address that will take you to our books, including mine. It’s a lot of fun for us, lots of work and a treat for our fans also. A win-win situation!

 

 

In Roll The Dice, who would you say your favorite character is?

 

Oh by far, it’s Aurora. Hold it…I might have to change my mind once I think about what a sexy sweetheart Kai is… No! I still think that chick with the gigantic chip on her shoulder while trying to hide a marshmallow heart has to be IT!!

 

Do you base any of your character’s on aspects of people’s character’s who you know?

 

Of course! I take little endearing habits from some people, add in a few of annoying ones from others, figure out how I would feel in certain situations and write the opposite because it adds spice…. keeps me on my toes. In Aurora’s case, I’d like to have her grit. I know I’m a wuss, and it bugs me. I love writing about a character who wouldn’t take guff from anybody….except those she loves!!

 

Out of all your books is their one character who you identify with more than any other?

Probably Abigail Taylor (Abbie), who is my heroine in Together for Christmas. She’s big-hearted, loves to help others, and has a keen sense of fun. This has always been my favorite story…probably because I adore the holidays. I finalled in the 2012 Gayle Wilson contest (Paranormal genre) with this spirit sharing, love story, which adds another reason as to why it’s so special.

 

How would you describe your writing style – do you plan, plan, plan or do you wing it as you go along?

 

I’m a total pantser. For weeks, before I ever write a word, the story will churn in my head. I brainstorm with myself, thinking about all the different directions and angles I could take the two people I’ve imagined who seem to fit best as the hero and heroine. Soon as I begin to write a short summation of the plot – beginning, sometimes a bit of the middle, and always the end—my characters become real. And I’m off. Very often things change, but never the ending. It’s my goal to work towards and gives me my direction. I love good endings. It’s always a letdown to me how authors can write such wonderful stories and peter out at the end to…well, blah!

 

Do you have any advice for budding authors out there?

 

Oh yes! As much as this is a solitary job, don’t ever kid yourself that you have to be alone. So many of us are out there waiting to help, answer questions, and give you a hand up. Reach out! Authors are wonderful people. Get on the social media roller coaster. Not only is it smart, it’s rather crucial—unless you decide to go the traditional route, and you have a publisher who’s distributing your books everywhere. Hold it! I take that back. Even then, there’s a heck of a large audience out there who have switched to digital reading. You need them to find you. So, get out there! 

 

 

Thank you Mimi, for answering all these questions and giving us an insight into your personal and writing life.

 

Now for the reviews of the two books in Mimi’s new series:

    

Book Review of Partners

 

This short story introduction to the full-length novel ‘Roll the Dice’ is excellent.

It gives you a clear picture of all the main character’s you will be meeting and a very good understanding of the back story.  I really enjoyed this short introduction and it serves its purpose well.

 

The character’s are lively and each have their own personality, there is still lots of room left for the character’s to develop and grow in the next novel without leaving them 2-dimensional in the introductory short story, Mimi Barbour has done an excellent job with this book.

 

 

Book Review of Roll The Dice

 

I received an e-copy of this book prior to release in return for an honest review.

 

I absolutely loved this book but only gave four stars due to some minor editing issues, I reserve my 5 stars for books that I really love which are also completely free of mistakes, this ensures that my 5 star ratings really are excellent.

 

The plot and characterisation in this book are brilliant, it is fast paced with lots going on and the characters are real and instantly identifiable with.  The two love-story sub plots are worked in extremely well and add the final dimension necessary for this book to be so good.

 

This is a detective story with a very real, personal, emotional scenario.

Anybody who loves mysteries, adventure, cops, romance and plausible plots will love this book.

 

4/5 stars

 

I highly recommend it and look forward to reading the sequel which is due out next year.

 

 

Contact information for Mimi Barbour

 

My contact information is as follows: I do love to hear from you so please drop me a line.

 

Blog- Believe!: http://mimibarbour.blogspot.com

Website: http://www.mimibarbour.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MimiBarbour @MimiBarbour

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/mimi.barbour 

Amazon page: http://amzn.to/Qy67qM

LinkedIn: http://linkd.in/TCa7cL

 

 

 

 

“Vegas” Contest Rules 

(Sept 15 – Sept 30th)

1. Read the book called “Roll the Dice”. 

2. Write an honest review for Amazon.

3. Send a copy of Amazon’s notice to 

mimibarbour@hotmail.com

Then…

you’ll have a chance at being the lucky winner of a 

$50 Amazon Gift Certificate

I’ve purposely set the price of the book down to $.99 for this contest and on Sept 19 & 20 it will be promoted in the 

www.Freepartay.com 

and will be …

…you guessed it!

FREE!!!

Good Luck!!!

 

 

 

I wish to thank Mimi for allowing me to interview her and for the chance to get to know her better.

Try the competition above as you definitely will not regret reading this book.

 

Alternatively or as well if you like Mimi has kindly offered 1 kindle edition of Roll The Dice to a lucky participant in my giveaway here.  This will run from the 19th Sep through to the 26th Sep.

 

All you have to do is leave a comment about this post and a means of contacting you if you win.

 

Good luck all and thanks for reading.

~ by adelesymonds on September 19, 2012.

7 Responses to “Interview with Mimi Barbour, book reviews and int contest and giveaway”

  1. This doll stayed up half the night to get this blog up!! I’d like to wrap up a big hug and ship it express post…xo

  2. […] Interview with Mimi Barbour, book reviews and int contest and giveaway (adelesymonds.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Interview with Mimi Barbour, book reviews and int contest and giveaway (adelesymonds.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Interview with Mimi Barbour, book reviews and int contest and giveaway (adelesymonds.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Interview with Mimi Barbour, book reviews and int contest and giveaway (adelesymonds.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] Interview with Mimi Barbour, book reviews and int contest and giveaway (adelesymonds.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
B.R. Young

Indie Author

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

The Published Pen

Exciting news, tips, and industry tricks from Pen Name Publishing and French Press Bookworks, boutique publishing houses for all of your independent needs.

My Thoughts...My Words...

"Always be a poet, even in prose." Charles Baudelaire

Elisabeth Wheatley

Dangerous girls who save themselves...and sometimes the world.

Storytime with Buffy

Let's talk books

thereadershollow.wordpress.com/

Of books, stories and those who love them.

Organic, Free-Range, Home Schooled Well Water

Collection Of Stories From The Great Whatever

AWARD WINNING AUTHOR DIANNA BELLEROSE

Women's Advocate, Radio Host, Speaker, and Book Publisher

bethanybull75's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

SM's Relaxed Writing Zone

Where Creativity Runs Wild

Tiger-lily's FlashFiction Cave

Causal Story telling.

Watch Nonnie Write!

"It's gonna be a long, long journey, but I'm ready..."

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

Jon Wilson's 1920 to 1930

-from the bootlegging era to the great depression and bank robbing-

Julie Kavanagh writer

Me, my books, my world

disappearinginplainsight

Writing about writing

school Days

Good old days...

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

IAmJasonPatrickPerry

Up and coming writer

One step at a time

Let's learn creative writing together

Angus48's Blog

Keeping Reviewing and Ranting to an Artform.

The Linden Chronicles: The Wolf's Moon/The River

Bestselling Thriller/Suspense Author, PATRICK JONES, reveals stories never before told UNTIL NOW...YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! Copyright (C) Patrick Jones All Rights Reserved

A New Start in Life

Finding my inner peace...

All That's Written ...

Lucy Pireel - Author, reader, and blogger

Emma Lynn

Mother, wife and audlt ficton writer

P.M. Brown

Hope is never lost, it is only abandoned.

Imagineer-ing

an adventure in reading, writing & publishing

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

Our Write Side

For authors, by authors, one word at a time

Echoes

There's No Truth, Only Perspectives

lizzielich23

Lizzie's Random Thoughts and Stuff

lakefrontmuse

Just another WordPress.com site

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

Greg Carrico's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Novelist/screenwriter Scott Harper’s official blog

Novelist/screenwriter Scott Harper’s official blog

Kelly Dines

Writer, bookworm, fantasy dork

J. A. Dennam's Romantic Suspense

Read, obsess, live the ride, then fix your hair.

Missuswolf

Fizz, Fiction and Family life

My Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Voices In His Head

Recognized as Blog Of The Year! (unfortunately, it was given the year 1910, the start of the Great Depression)

zenbuddy

Just another WordPress.com site

Jay Squires' SEPTUAGENARIAN JOURNEY

DUDE'S USED ALL HIS SECOND WIND . . . JOURNEY WITH HIM NOW AS HE LAUNCHES HIS THIRD.

Sandra Austin

Writing for Children, Life Stories, Life in General

thejourneyofnicola

This WordPress.com site follows Nicola

