Book Review, Author Interview and Int giveaway – Jenny Pox by J L Bryan


Jenny Pox by J L Bryan

Published: July 22 2010

ISBN: 9781452484761

Series: The Paranormals #1

literary awards: Red Adept Indie Awards Winner (2010), Geeks of Doom Top 10 Urban Fantasy and Horror Books of 2010

 

 

Author Bio

J.L. Bryan studied English literature at the University of Georgia and at Oxford, with a focus on the English Renaissance and the Romantic period. He also studied screenwriting at UCLA. He enjoys remixing elements of paranormal, supernatural, fantasy, horror and science fiction into new kinds of stories.

He is the author of The Paranormals series (Jenny Pox, Tommy Nightmare, Alexander Death) and other books. Fairy Metal Thunder is the first book in his new Songs of Magic series. He lives in Atlanta with his wife Christina, his baby son John, and some dogs and cats.

 

 

Synopsis

Eighteen-year-old Jenny Morton has a horrific secret: her touch spreads a deadly supernatural plague, the “Jenny pox.” She lives by a single rule: Never touch anyone. A lifetime of avoiding any physical contact with others has made her isolated and painfully lonely in her small rural town.

Then she meets the one boy she can touch. Jenny feels herself falling for Seth…but if she’s going to be with him, Jenny must learn to use the deadly pox inside her to confront his ruthless and manipulative girlfriend Ashleigh, who secretly wields the most dangerous power of all.

 

 

Review

This book has a really good plot concept, a girl who can’t touch a living being without infecting it, a boy who can heal with his touch and a girl who can enchant people with her touch, there is love, war, manipulation, sex, teenagers, gore and much more.
I found the first few chapters did not have enough information they jumped too quickly over years of time where nothing was mentioned.
There were some issues with believability, ie, when people first started finding out about the special powers, why was nothing investigated, it seems that the adults in the town just turned a blind eye to it, this would not happen in real life.
You will love the character of Seth, hate Ashleigh and have mixed emotions about Jenny but overall will love her.
The ending is brutal with a surprise twist and I look forward to the next instalment in this trilogy.
I give this book 3.5/5 stars rounded up to 4.

 

 

INTERVIEW

 

Hello Jeff, I am so pleased you had the time to do this interview with me, welcome to my blog.

 

Thanks so much for inviting me, Adele!

 

A REVIEW OF JENNY POX IS PROVIDED ABOVE, COULD YOU TELL US HOW YOU CAME UP WITH THIS VERY INTERESTING PLOT IDEA?

 

It was basically a character study.  I was interested to see how being unable to touch anyone would shape this girl’s life.  It’s as if she’s shy and has severe social anxiety, but the reality is that she avoids everyone because she knows she’s a danger to them.

 

 

HOW MANY BOOKS ARE IN THE SERIES SO FAR AND HOW MANY MORE TO GO?

 

The fourth book, Jenny Plague-Bringer, has just been released.  I don’t have any plans to write any more books in this series.

 

WHO IS YOUR FAVOURITE CHARACTER AND WHY?

 

I really like some of the minor characters, like Jenny’s dad, who’s a broke alcoholic but manages to keep them alive with a place to live.  One of my favorite minor characters in the series is Darcy Metcalf, a kind of goofy, nerdy girl who gets hit with the worst luck, the side effects of the war between Ashleigh and Jenny.  She has the oddest word choices because she reads a lot, and I always love writing her dialogue.

 

IS THEIR A PARTICULAR SCENE WHICH YOU ENJOYED WRITING MORE THAN ANY OTHER?

 

In the first book, it’s probably Jenny and Seth’s first date.  It’s Halloween, and they dress in costume and go to some of those haunted houses that crop up around that time of year.  It’s sort of an ideal first date, I think.

 

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE GENRE TO READ AND TO WRITE?

 

I enjoy anything speculative—horror, paranormal, fantasy, science fiction, any genre where the world is bent and twisted from the one we know.  Lately, I’ve been focused on horror and fantasy because that’s what my readers like the most.  I haven’t written much science fiction recently.

 

WHEN DID YOU FIRST START WRITING?

 

I started writing stories when I was six or seven years old.  My elementary school had a “publishing company” where volunteer moms would come in, type up kids’ stories and poems, and bind them up to look like a book.  I got addicted to that, writing stories and seeing them “published.”  I’ve been writing ever since.  I wrote my first novel when I was twelve.

 

WHAT WAS YOUR FAVOURITE CHILDHOOD BOOK?

 

I loved escapist books like Where the Wild Things Are and Peter and Wendy.

 

DO YOU COMPLETELY PLAN YOUR BOOKS OR DO THE CHARACTER’S TAKE ON A LIFE OF THEIR OWN?

 

I do more outlining now than I used to, but the outline is a skeletal, flexible thing for me.  I generally put different characters into a state of conflict, where they want mutually exclusive things, and then let them run wild.

 

WHERE IS YOUR FAVOURITE PLACE TO WRITE?

 

I enjoy writing outdoors, and there’s a local coffee shop near me that I really like.  It had a great courtyard.  Unfortunately, I don’t really enjoy writing on netbooks or laptops, so I dream of the day when I can hand-write everything on a tablet that converts it to digital text.

 

And 5 just for fun

 

 

TEA OR COFFEE?

 

Coffee.  I never really got into tea, but I depend on coffee to keep me awake and sane.

 

CHOCOLATE OR SWEETS?

 

Chocolate!  Because if I say “sweets,” I might end up with hard candy and Smarties and other things that usually drift to the bottom of the Halloween trick-or-treat bag.

 

DOGS OR CATS?

 

I have both.  I think I’m more of a cat person because I appreciate their independence.  Dogs need a lot more time and attention, which I enjoy giving them, but I don’t always have a lot of time to spare.

 

BEACH OR MOUNTAIN?

 

The beach!  Mountains are pretty but too cold.  I enjoy sunlight and swimming, as well as seafood and rum, so this is an easy one for me!

 

CITY OR COUNTRYSIDE?

 

That’s not so easy…I like the city because there are more interesting places to go, unique shops and playhouses and things like that.  I suppose I’d rather live in the city and vacation in the country.

 

 

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions.

 

Thanks so much for having me, Adele!

 

Jeff has very kindly offered ebooks of both Jenny Pox and Tommy Nightmare, the first two books in the Paranormals series, for a giveaway prize.  Please leave a comment answering the following question to be in with the chance to win. Remember to leave a way of contacting you.

 

Winners will be notified and announced on or shortly after the 9th Nov

Good Luck!

 

The questions: What is your favorite thing about Halloween?

 

 

~ by adelesymonds on October 22, 2012.

6 Responses to “Book Review, Author Interview and Int giveaway – Jenny Pox by J L Bryan”

  1. I enjoy passing out candy to trick or treaters when I am home but for the past couple years have enjoyed taking the kids out trick or treating since they really just got old enough to enjoy it.

    • Thank you for your comment, I will taking my 3 boys trick or treating too although I don’t think the youngest will understand anything, he is only 16mths. Thank you for visiting and entering the giveaway. If you win I will need your email address.

  2. Very cool concept! Originality is rare these days…
    Cool interview as well.
    Any time you want to get the “inside scoop” on your favorite bellman/author, let me know…

  3. As for the question… watching my daughter and other little ones parade around in colorful get-ups while letting their imaginations soar has always made Halloween special to me.

Leave a Reply

 
B.R. Young

Indie Author

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

The Published Pen

Exciting news, tips, and industry tricks from Pen Name Publishing and French Press Bookworks, boutique publishing houses for all of your independent needs.

My Thoughts...My Words...

"Always be a poet, even in prose." Charles Baudelaire

Elisabeth Wheatley

Dangerous girls and boys who love them.

Storytime with Buffy

Let's talk books

thereadershollow.wordpress.com/

Of books, stories and those who love them.

Organic, Free-Range, Home Schooled Well Water

Collection Of Stories From The Great Whatever

AWARD WINNING AUTHOR DIANNA BELLEROSE

Women's Advocate, Radio Host, Speaker, and Book Publisher

bethanybull75's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

SM's Relaxed Writing Zone

Where Creativity Runs Wild

Tiger-lily's FlashFiction Cave

Causal Story telling.

Watch Nonnie Write!

"It's gonna be a long, long journey, but I'm ready..."

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

Julie Kavanagh writer

Me, my books, my world

disappearinginplainsight

Writing about writing

school Days

Good old days...

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

IAmJasonPatrickPerry

Up and coming writer

One step at a time

Let's learn creative writing together

Angus48's Blog

Keeping Reviewing and Ranting to an Artform.

The Linden Chronicles: The Wolf's Moon/The River

Bestselling Thriller/Suspense Author, PATRICK JONES, reveals stories never before told UNTIL NOW...YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! Copyright (C) Patrick Jones All Rights Reserved

A New Start in Life

Finding my inner peace...

All That's Written ...

Lucy Pireel - Author, reader, and blogger

Emma Lynn

Mother, wife and audlt ficton writer

P.M. Brown

Hope is never lost, it is only abandoned.

Imagineer-ing

an adventure in reading, writing & publishing

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

OWS Ink, LLC

Changing the literary world one author at a time

Echoes

There's No Truth, Only Perspectives

lizzielich23

Lizzie's Random Thoughts and Stuff

lakefrontmuse

Just another WordPress.com site

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

Greg Carrico's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Novelist/screenwriter Scott Harper’s official blog

Novelist/screenwriter Scott Harper’s official blog

Kelly Dines

Writer, bookworm, fantasy dork

J. A. Dennam's Romantic Suspense

Read, obsess, live the ride, then fix your hair.

Missuswolf

Fizz, Fiction and Family life

My Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Voices In His Head

Recognized as Blog Of The Year! (unfortunately, it was given the year 1910, the start of the Great Depression)

zenbuddy

Just another WordPress.com site

Jay Squires' SEPTUAGENARIAN JOURNEY

DUDE'S USED ALL HIS SECOND WIND . . . . JOURNEY WITH HIM IN THE LAUNCH OF HIS THIRD.

Sandra Austin

Writing for Children, Life Stories, Life in General

thejourneyofnicola

This WordPress.com site follows Nicola

