Guest Post by Sascha Illyvich


Today I would like to welcome Sascha to my blog.  Sascha is a male author who writes adult romance, he has kindly agreed to do a short guest post for us today, so over to Sascha.

 

Music Fun

For Adele Symonds

 

A lot of writers knock out the words while cranking out tunes to set the mood, evoke the scene in their heads and get it on paper. I’m, even as a male romance author, no different. My playlist is much harder and heavier for stories than the average writer.

 

We’re celebrating the release of Bound After Midnight in this post, a paranormal anthology featuring Bonni Sansom, Margie Church and myself. Three stories of paranormal romance with bondage/kink aspects in a powerhouse collection, by authors who know how to tug at the heart strings along with the ropes…

 

I don’t know about my co-authors, but I wrote my story “Finding Eternity” mostly to the album entitled Holy, but the industrial, metal-esque group In Strict Confidence. Particularly the second track, Seven Lives.

 

The song’s lyrics kept getting stuck in my head, particularly the chorus.

 

“Come! no night too dark – no road too long Run! no rain too hard – no wind too strong Pray! no blood too red – no cut too deep Stay! no pain too bad – no track too steep”

 

Combine that with the intro line about a deal with death and seven lives and somehow I was able to pull a story about a warrior who fights in a world of chaos and confusion, searching for his unknown destiny. When Katherine, a vampire rescues him and nurses him back to health both physically and mentally, the lines continued to run in my head as part of the plot.

 

Most of that album was on repeat during the creation of that 20,000 word story. I think there might have been some Devildriver in there or even a little bit of newer Nine Inch Nails, but what I really wanted was to portray the romance aspect of the story as I saw the song unfolding.

 

If you enjoy the story, be sure to thank urban fantasy author Yasmine Galenorn for turning me on to ISC. It’s certainly helped me add layers to the story. As a musically driven author, when I hear a soundscape of art, it inspires me to create worlds, characters, plots all revolving around the emotions the artist of the song has inspired in me.

 

I would like to thank Sascha for taking the time to explain his process for writing novels, do you listen to certain types of music as you write?  Do you prefer to write in complete silence? Or do you like a mixture dependent on what scene you are currently writing?  I would like to hear about your writing experiences and methods.

 

Sascha’s newest book referred to in his guest post is due for release later this month.

Book details:

Title:  Bound After Midnight ft. Sascha Illyvich, Bonni Sansom, Margie Church
Publisher: Sizzler Editions – http://www.sizzlereditions.com
Release date:  Feb 21st, 2013

1boundaftermidnight1600x2400

 

If this is the genre for you then you may also be interested in his 3 latest titles:

 

 Sascha can be found at the following places:

 

 

~ by adelesymonds on February 10, 2013.

24 Responses to “Guest Post by Sascha Illyvich”

  1. Great guest blog Adele. I often listen to music whilst writing, although I can find lyrics distracting so tend to listen to instrumental tracks. That said it will depend on what I’m writing about, for example I was recently writing something about my little family. I wanted something playing in the background that reminded me of a happy time. Eventually I found myself listening to Riviera Radio which is an English radio station in the South of France that we would listen to everyday whilst on a big family holiday that had been gifted to us by a relative.

    • Paul, thanks for replying to my post, I also found lyrics distracting if listening whilst writing but when just listening I find they can also spark new trains of thought and new ideas. What a lovely gift for you and your family, a holiday in the South of France. What instrumental music do you like, or does that also depend on your mood or what you are currently writing?

      • It does vary, but mainly movie theme tunes as these tend to be instrumental. Youtube or Classic FM are usually a safe bet although with the radio stations you need to block out the adverts or you can lose your train of thought.

      • Thanks Paul, it is great to hear about other people’s processes. I hope your writing is going well. I hope to be able to feature you on here one day.

      • Thank you, that would be cool. x

    • Every so often I get into the instrumental thing. Miroist out of the UK is an ambient metal/Djent project and the EP he put out is pretty bad ass to write to! Thanks for checking me out!

  2. Reblogged this on P.M. Brown.

  3. Great blog!! Sascha is always interesting 🙂

  4. I tried creating my playlist for a novel I was writing. First time I ever did it. I was surprised (Why, I ask myself now, was I surprised?) at how well it worked. Picking is the hard part for me. Music for sensual, different music for tension, yet other music for comic elements. It’s an interesting process, and I think I got to know my story at an even more intimate level. Thanks for the post, Sascha! Looking forward to reading “Bound after Midnight.”

    • This seems to be something that a lot of authors use to good effect, I am pleased it works well for you Sharon. Which novel was it? A little self promotion does no harm.

      • It was the novel I wrote for NaNoWriMo last November, The Quick and the Dedd, a paranormal romantic suspense. That said, you know how far I am from publication. A LOT of editing to do before submission. lol

      • Thank you Sharon, I look forward to seeing it published, good luck with the editing. If there is any help I can offer just ask.

    • Part of the problem with music is during the creation of Covenant of Wolves Book 1: Stalker(Dub Mix) that my agent has is that the world I created was REALLY harsh and computer oriented, so I had to write to a LOT of annoying aggro-tek and electronica. Damn if it didn’t give me a jump for the next book though!

      • That is interesting, so you even listen to music that you don’t actually like if it provides the right atmosphere for the book?

      • Not entirely that I didn’t like it, it’s just annoying as hell! The music in question has to move me, and luckily, Combichrist does that. But some of the remixes of his stuff…like the Rotersand mix of Sent To Destroy…just, only a few minutes of that I can tolerate LOL!

  5. I too listen to music while I write. I don’t know if I could write without it. Sascha it’s a privilege to share this book with you and Margie.

  6. Margie and Bonni are both solid authors and this anthology promises to be a damn fine one!

  7. Hi Adele, I simply love your blog and have nominated you for a Very inspiring Blogger Award. To collect it’s simple, click onto my blog and follow the rules. http://welshjensblog.blogspot.com
    Have a great day Jen

Leave a Reply

 
B.R. Young

Indie Author

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

The Published Pen

Exciting news, tips, and industry tricks from Pen Name Publishing and French Press Bookworks, boutique publishing houses for all of your independent needs.

My Thoughts...My Words...

"Always be a poet, even in prose." Charles Baudelaire

Elisabeth Wheatley

Dangerous girls and boys who love them.

Storytime with Buffy

Let's talk books

thereadershollow.wordpress.com/

Of books, stories and those who love them.

Organic, Free-Range, Home Schooled Well Water

Collection Of Stories From The Great Whatever

AWARD WINNING AUTHOR DIANNA BELLEROSE

Women's Advocate, Radio Host, Speaker, and Book Publisher

bethanybull75's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

SM's Relaxed Writing Zone

Where Creativity Runs Wild

Tiger-lily's FlashFiction Cave

Causal Story telling.

Watch Nonnie Write!

"It's gonna be a long, long journey, but I'm ready..."

writerchristophfischer

Books, Reviews and bookish thoughts

Julie Kavanagh writer

Me, my books, my world

disappearinginplainsight

Writing about writing

school Days

Good old days...

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

IAmJasonPatrickPerry

Up and coming writer

One step at a time

Let's learn creative writing together

Angus48's Blog

Keeping Reviewing and Ranting to an Artform.

The Linden Chronicles: The Wolf's Moon/The River

Bestselling Thriller/Suspense Author, PATRICK JONES, reveals stories never before told UNTIL NOW...YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! Copyright (C) Patrick Jones All Rights Reserved

A New Start in Life

Finding my inner peace...

All That's Written ...

Lucy Pireel - Author, reader, and blogger

Emma Lynn

Mother, wife and audlt ficton writer

P.M. Brown

Hope is never lost, it is only abandoned.

Imagineer-ing

an adventure in reading, writing & publishing

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

OWS Ink, LLC

Changing the literary world one author at a time

Echoes

There's No Truth, Only Perspectives

lizzielich23

Lizzie's Random Thoughts and Stuff

lakefrontmuse

Just another WordPress.com site

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

Greg Carrico's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Novelist/screenwriter Scott Harper’s official blog

Novelist/screenwriter Scott Harper’s official blog

Kelly Dines

Writer, bookworm, fantasy dork

J. A. Dennam's Romantic Suspense

Read, obsess, live the ride, then fix your hair.

Missuswolf

Fizz, Fiction and Family life

My Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Voices In His Head

Recognized as Blog Of The Year! (unfortunately, it was given the year 1910, the start of the Great Depression)

zenbuddy

Just another WordPress.com site

Jay Squires' SEPTUAGENARIAN JOURNEY

DUDE'S USED ALL HIS SECOND WIND . . . . WON'T YOU JOURNEY WITH HIM NOW IN THE LAUNCH OF HIS THIRD?

Sandra Austin

Writing for Children, Life Stories, Life in General

thejourneyofnicola

This WordPress.com site follows Nicola

